Dirt

I tell you the solemn truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls into the ground and dies it remains by itself, alone. But if it dies, it produces much grain.

— Jesus (John 12:24, NET)

I haven’t had much creative energy lately. It’s been all I could do just to squeeze out the bare minimum amount of writing I needed to get done for class. I’ll have several ideas for writing captivating blog posts or deep, reflective essays in my journal, but when it comes time to put pen to paper, it all just seems like gibberish. It’s hard for me to take the time to sit down to write. I don’t do this often, but I thought it would be a good time to share someone else’s thoughts. This excerpt came up in my devotional time this week, and it has stuck with me. Last summer, as part of my Bible study lesson on submission as a spiritual discipline, I used this simple metaphor from Jesus to drive my main point home: that it is only when we offer ourselves up to God, and pour ourselves out for others, that we truly find our own identity. Anthony Bloom continues with the gardening motif, which I find helpful. Let me know if you get anything out of it.

Basically humility is the attitude of one who stands constantly under the judgement of God. It is the attitude of one who is like the soil. Humility comes form the Latin word humus, fertile ground. The fertile ground is there, unnoticed, taken for granted, always there to be trodden upon. It is silent, inconspicuous, dark and yet it is always ready to receive any seed, ready to give it substance and life. The more lowly, the more fruitful, because it becomes really fertile when it accepts all the refuse of the earth. It is so low that nothing can soil it, abase it, humiliate it; it has accepted the last place and cannot go any lower. In that position nothing can shatter the soul’s serenity, its peace and joy.
Anthony Bloom, Living Prayer
About David Anderson, Jr.

I'm a wandering pilgrim anchored in the Baptist tradition, tossed about by the anabaptist current. I am a minister at Pullen Memorial Baptist Church and a recent graduate of Campbell Divinity School. I am the husband of a beautiful woman, and the father of a blond-haired boy. I am a work in progress, struggling to work out my own salvation with fear and trembling. View all posts by David Anderson, Jr.

Leave a Reply

