The Puppy Who Wanted a Boy…

…and then got more than she had bargained for.

We’ve been cautiously letting Abigail have more and more freedom around Samuel. She seems to be able to distinguish him from food now. Our real worry has never been that she would consciously hurt him, but rather that she would trip over him, or forget she was standing beside him and just collapse into a nap. To be so elegant, she is the most clumsy dog I have ever seen.

Our pediatrician encouraged us to let them spend time together though; he thought it was good for puppy and boy to grow old together, although puppy has grown much faster than boy. Up until now, it has always been Abigail that has approached Samuel. She will lick his hands and feet a little, get bored and move on. Today, however, Samuel decided it was time for him to take control of their relationship. He climbed on board and hasn’t looked back since.

Photo by Kristen Anderson

About David Anderson, Jr.

I'm a wandering pilgrim anchored in the Baptist tradition, tossed about by the anabaptist current. I am a minister at Pullen Memorial Baptist Church and a recent graduate of Campbell Divinity School. I am the husband of a beautiful woman, and the father of a blond-haired boy. I am a work in progress, struggling to work out my own salvation with fear and trembling. View all posts by David Anderson, Jr.

4 responses to “The Puppy Who Wanted a Boy…

  • Heather

    That is too cute! I can’t believe how big he’s gotten since we saw you guys.

    • David

      I know. He’s huge, isn’t he? I didn’t realize how much he has been growing until I got back from our youth retreat last week. I was only gone 4 1/2 days, but when I came back he was like a totally different baby — longer, rounder, with a bigger head and a bigger smile.

      We can’t wait hear more about your little one as well! Hopefully we’ll be able to make a day trip to Asheville sometime soon; we’ve got to go to Myrtle Beach first though, as my grandparents still haven’t seen the baby.

  • Heather

    He is a big boy, but a very cute one 🙂 I do hope you guys can come visit sometime soon! I’ll keep you posted on all our baby news. I’m always anxious for my doctor appointments to find out how things are going and how it’s developing. I just can’t wait to find out if it’s a boy or girl! haha

  • Susan

    That is sweet. He is a big boy. Love grandma Susie

Leave a Reply

